*Please note that the contents of this page are solely the OPINIONS of the authors and the followers.*

Welcome to the Middle of the Road. This is a combined book review blog, one that is both cherished and prided over. We want everyone who comes to our page to find something of intrest to them, so when they walk away they are either satisfied or intrigued. We are both avid readers and have a passion about books that few of our other friends do. Both of us are happy to share our experiences in the book world and at times some goodies too. Enjoy your time here, and if you are anything like us, you could spend hours just wandering aimlessly through the world of books, just like a lazy afternoon down the Middle of the Road.

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Book Review: The Candidates

Welcome to Delcroix Academy, where we train the elite of the elite.

I adored this book!! And can not wait for book two to come out this year :)

Danica has always sat right in the middle. It's not like she couldn't excel at anything, but she never wanted to. From the first time she realized she had powers, she has decided to lay low, and draw as little attention to herself as possible.

It would be great to have friends, even one friend would be nice. But having an emotional attachment of any kind is dangerous for her. Her powers are connected to her emotions, and she can't control them. When she sees someone in trouble, she just has to help. Unfortunately someone always seems to get hurt, even though she ' saves the day ' for the person she was helping, she manages to make it that much worse for the other guy.

When Mr. Judan and Cam show up one night, no one is more surprised than she is. Delcroix Academy has been a part of Danville for as long as she can remember, but she has never met anyone from the school. Come to think of it, she has never even seen anyone from the school before. All she knows is what the jokes and rumors are, the kids that go to Delcroix are super smart, super rich, and super stuck up.. oh and once they graduate they always end up working for some seriously cool places, like working with the President.

Being accepted to Delcroix was not what Danica expected out of the visit, and it took her awhile to realize that she was finally getting a chance to start over, and get a little excited about it. But at the same time she still wondered exactly why they wanted her, she wasn't that smart, pretty, or rich. She had no special talents. Unless they knew about her powers, but how could they, she had never told anyone.

Jack seems just as much confused and lonely as she is, maybe they are the token poor kids. But the closer Jack and Danica get, the weirder Jack begins to act. He is certain that Delcroix is way more than it seems. He swears he's being followed when he leaves school, and even when he is at school he is seeing ppl watching him everywhere. His paranoia is starting to get to Danica. She cares for Jack, but she is starting to fall in love with Cam, and the more Cam warns her to stay away from Jack, the more she wants to listen. Except that Jack seems to make so much sense at times, as well as when she looks into his eyes, and hears him talk, she knows he believes everything he says is the truth.

When what is going on is finally revealed to Danica, she ends up with a choice to make. Jack or Cam, running or staying. She does what she feels is the right thing, but what if she has taken the wrong path after all?

Friday, February 25, 2011

New Contest

We have a new contest for you guys, and this one is GREAT! If we do say so ourselves :)

It will begin March 1st and run through April 1st 2011. That way you will have an ENTIRE month to participate. The winner will receive a copy of the third book in Carrie Ryan's Forest of Hands and Teeth series, The Dark and Hollow Places, and an awesome lil 'surprise' prize pack.

Now for the details. This contest isn't like any contest we have done before, this one actually requires you to participate :) actively AND be creative. What we want from you guys are mini reviews. Not just any mini review, but ones about the first two books in Carrie Ryan's series, The Forest of Hands and Teeth, and The Dead Tossed Waves.

We will be accepting reviews on either book or both books. The reviews can be no more than 150 in length, and can contain no spoilers. We want these to be YOUR opinion of the book. Of course factual in what the book is about, but in how YOU felt when you read it, how you liked it, the picture it painted in your head, those sorts of things. We want it to be creative, funky, unique... totally YOU!! We will also be accepting the fan art that goes along with your mini review, if you have any, but it's not required.

Not only must you submit this by April first, you must also be a follower on this blog and repost this on your Twitter and Facebooks, leaving us link backs.

How we will pick a winner is, once we receive all the mini reviews, we will sort them and announce the winner. The contest will be open internationally. However, due to the fact that we pay for everything out of pocket and all the rules for shipping, if the winner is outside of the U.S. or Canada, we unfortunately can only send the book, and not the prize pack. Our sincere apologies for that and we hope it doesn't discourage anyone :)

On March first we will be reposting about the contest and putting up the entry form. Happy writing, and we are looking forward to reading your handy work and seeing your art!!
- Christy and Danielle

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Lover Mine by: J. R. Ward

I have been absolutely infatuated with J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series since I read the very first book (Dark Lover). Ms. Ward has done an amazing job with each and every one of the novels in this series.

Lover Mine is the eighth book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series and it is the story of John Matthew. John Matthew is a VERY interesting character in all of these books but he is exceptionally so in Lover Mine.

John Matthew has fallen in love with Xhex who has been taken by the current fore lesser, Lash. AKA the son of the Omega. The brotherhood is doing everything in their power to find her but they really don't have much to go on in the beginning. Lash has lots of tricks up his sleeves and is by far much stronger than any "ordinary" lesser.

I don't like to give many spoilers in my reviews, but I will tell you that the end of this book is spectacular. All through the novel it has you thinking that there will be a sad ending once and for all, but...it turns out to be anything but a sad ending! I never saw it coming but I guess I should have considering there hasn't been a sad ending in the novels thus far. Ms. Ward always finds a way to make things work out for everyone.

*This is most definitely an ADULT novel.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Book Review: Hex Hall

Really liked this book alot :) It has a little bit of all paranormal types, were's vamps, fey,.. ect. But when I say little I do mean little, you barely see much of the others in this book. The main characters are witches, and of course a B.F.F. who is a vamp :)

Sopie has pushed her luck one too many times, and that's saying alot. Her mother and her have moved about 19 times in her 16 years of life. Yeah, that's a whole bunch, unfortunately it's because Sophie just can't seem to control her want to use her magic.

Even though she always has the best intentions, well usually has the best intentions, her spells always backfire. They are always way too powerful. But her last helping hand really did her in. She cast a love spell to help out a classmate, and it blew up in her face, big time.

Being sent to Hecate Hall was pretty much the low point to a bum life. Sophie knew she had hit rock bottom. Now she was sentenced to spend the next two years in a ' correctional facility ' for the special magic kids, who do bad things. Great, Juvie for the magically inclined.

Day one brings her just the same outcast status as every other school she has ever been to. When a werewolf tries to attack her and the only thing she can think of is to say " Bad Dog. " Yeah, a great witch she is going to make. Fortunately the school resident bad boy, and all round hottie, Archer comes to her rescue. Unfortunately he is just as much a jerk as he is good looking.

Being asked, and then refusing to join a coven of dark witches, with the most popular girl, Elodie, in school, and being the roommate of the only vampire on campus, only furthers her spot on the D list. But even though she seems to be a total loser, Archer seems to pay more and more attention to her, Much to Elodie's dismay.

When a student is attacked, in the same way one was killed less than 6 months ago, panic is an understatement. The school officials try to keep things calm, but everyone, with the exception of Sophie, are blaming Jenna. The only Vampire on campus. Who else could it have been? Both victims had puncture wounds in their neck and blood drained. But Sophie knows Jenna is innocent.

When Sophie's great-grandmother, a ghost, decides to start teaching her some new tricks, Sophie is thrilled. Until another student is attacked and Jenna is sent away. Now things are getting out of hand, and she needs help. Alice, her great-grandmother, places a protection spell on her, it allows her to know when she is with an enemy, if she ever encounters one.

Alone in a room with Archer, and then making out with Archer is something that has only happened in her fantasies.. Until her hand starts to burn, and there on the skin underneath her burning hand is the sign of the L'Occhio di Dio, The Eye. The organization that is bent on hunting down and killing all extraordinary beings. And here it is, the mark, on the boy she is in love with.

Saving the day, and finally putting to rest who was behind the attacks should have made Sophie feel better, but even though Archer had been evil, she still missed him. He hadn't been caught. When Jenna return, Sophie couldn't be happier, until Jenna explains to her that the necklace her grandmother gave her is demon magic.

Besides The Eye, another possible suspect has been a demon all along, especially since Elodie and her coven was accused of trying to raise one. But if the gift was from her grandmother, and had demon blood in it, did that mean her grandmother was a demon? If so then what about Sophie, was she even a witch, or something far worse?

Totally awesome little book, I def recommend this and look forward to the next in the series coming out this year :)

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Book Review: Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

In honor of President's Day tomorrow, we would like to share a little fun fiction about one our Great Presidents :)

Mr. Abraham Lincoln. Yes, Honest Abe himself was indeed a vampire hunter, and a dang good one at that. You should grab yourself a copy of this book, and take a peek at his amazing skills. Oh and once his story concludes, you will be amazed at his surprise he has in store for you :)

Growing up poor, with his father and mother, young Abraham is clueless to the existence of vampires. Until his mother falls ill of milk sickness.

His Father becomes extremely guilt ridden. In a drunken stupor decides to tell his young son that vampires are real. And that his mother isn't dying of any milk sickness, but because he fell short on a deal he made with a vampire years ago.

Angry, and heart broken, Abraham's father lures the vampire that killed his wife to the family home and slays him, thus beginning young Abraham's fascination with the hunting.

His rise in the political world only helped to further his hunting abilities and his killing grounds. Helping him rid the entire continent of vampires, good and evil. Even though he knew the difference.


Thursday, February 17, 2011

Book Review: Eternal

All I can say is Whew! I was so disappointed in the first book in this ..err series, that I did not have my hopes up about this book. I am glad that the author really did a turn around though and actually wrote a good book.

Now, given that this is the 2nd book in a series, it is a bit different. It has absolutely nothing to do with the first book. Which in a way is a marvelous thing. That way you don't have to suffer through the original text to get to here :)

This is a cute story, it's about love and sacrifice. realizing when you make a mistake. Owning up to that mistake. And when you are given a second chance, taking it for all it's worth.

Zachary is a GA ( guardian angel ) and he has followed Miranda her entire life. He was there when she took her first breath, learned to ride a bike, developed a love for theater, and adopted her pet gerbil. Somewhere along the way though he realized he didn't just care for and love her the way normal GA's do, he was in love with her.

When he saw the black mist of death start to swarm his girl, he couldn't stand it. He knew he had to stay extra close to her and protect her at all costs. When her best friend Lucy talks her into going to the cemetery to meet a boy, Zachary knows they are in serious trouble, but short of reveling himself, there is nothing he can do to stop it.

When both the girls are attached he doesn't hold back. He lets his light shine, literally. His glow from Heaven is bright enough to kill the Vampires. He tries to ward off the one after Miranda but is too late, his only chance is to at least save Lucy. He gets to her just in time.

The Archangel Micheal is none to pleased, and punishes Zachary. Of course he knows he deserves it. Not only did he fail to save his charge, but he delivered her strait into the hands of evil. Now instead of going to Heaven, she has been damned. Becoming a Fallen Angel is hard on the body, physically, emotionally, and mentally.

A little more than a year after her abduction Zachary is given a second chance, he is given a mission from The Man Upstairs. His best friend Joshua ( also a GA ) has been assigned to him. being a little vague as to the details, Josh pretty much lets him know he has to go kill the big baddie of all the vamps. Miranda is never mentioned.

Zachary gets the shock of his life when he walks in and realizes that he is now able to save what is left of Miranda's soul, she can still go to Heaven. She didn't choose to be damned, her life was taken from her. So free will is still in play. Now the biggest obstacle is to kill the master of all the vampires and free her from his clutches.

Of course there are more smaller things involved, like free all the humans, save the kingdom, don't get caught, oh and don't get anyone else killed. But who's worried, he's just a fallen angel with no powers what so ever and just his charm and wit to accompany him. No sweat, right?

Now if he can just get past this unholy attraction he has for Miranda, and she obviously has for him and focus on the mission, he just might be able to pull this off. If not they might all be damned after all.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Book Review: Tantalize

So to start this review off, I'm going to say.. Don't bother. Unless you really have nothing else to read and this is the only thing within grabbing distance.

That said, There were quite a few problems I had within the pages of this book. How terrible is that? I hate writing a bad review. It took me almost 4 days to finish a book with less than 200 pages. That usually takes me less than a day, a day and a half tops.

The beginning of the story was junk, way too much detail about insignificant things. Too little or too much involvement from characters that made absolutely no sense, and a general.. WTH attitude came from flipping these pages. The end of this story was much much better, like maybe the author got a good kick in the rear and took a writing course or something.

Also there were major issue with the main Character Quinice. She was one of those TSTL females. ( Too stupid to live ) She completely gave up faith in her best friend and the boy she had been in love with for years, in a matter of days, just because he was suspicious of something. Then she started to get all gushy eyed at the thinning haired cowboy chef, and hardly spent any time grieving the death of a 'family' member. I did however love her hatred of the girlfriend.

Quincie was orphaned when both her parents died in accident while traveling abroad. Having to go stay with her uncle and help run her family restaurant, her life had now turned upside down. If it wasn't for her best friend and lifelong crush Kieren, she would have completely fallen apart.

The murder of the head chef of her family's restaurant, at the restaurant, throws things into a tailspin. Being closed down for renovations has helped a little. They wanted to 'Vamp' up the place, to being in more customers. But still they are now in need of a new head chef and are only a month away from opening their doors.

When Bradley walks in and turns out to be a blessing in disguise, Quincie is thrilled. The closer they get the further she and Kieren seem to pull apart. Until things come to a head, and she realizes she needs Kieren more than she ever has before.

I'm going to give this book an Orange Leaf. I would go with red, but the author redeemed herself in the second half.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Book Review: Ash

Writing this review is going to be a little more difficult than most. Particularly because I actually have a few complaints.. well maybe just one complaint :)

I especially enjoyed the wonderful retelling of a classic. The added twist of the fairies and the 'Cinderella' characters ability to fall in love with someone besides the prince was grand.

What I didn't like about this book was the fact that it really took me forever to get into it. I was actually tempted to put it down and move on, to something that would hold my attention better. There was too much detailing in the beginning, explaining why she was becoming a stepdaughter. I did however enjoy the book opening on her mother's funeral. The father was too distant, and focused on his own feelings to really have as much a part of the book as he did.

Other than that small detail, once I was finally able to get into the book.. I really got into it. I couldn't bare to put it down.

Ash is from a small town, growing up a single child to her loving and devoted mother, and more absent than not yet loving father. The day her mother died was probably the worst day of Ash's life, up till that moment. Her mother had loved her and cared for her, teaching her that love is the best thing in life. But after her death, Ash only felt empty, there wasn't anyone to remind her how important love was.

Her father was a business man, always riding off to Seatown. And to no one's surprise, he left shortly after her mother's funeral, to go back to work. Left with Anya the house keeper, Ash spent every night at her mother's grave. Remembering all the happy days that were gone now, and wishing with everything she had that she could somehow have her mother back.

With her father's return from Seatown, he had in town a new wife and two new children. Her stepmother, Lady Isobel, was not the loving devoted mother that Ash had once had. In fact the woman barely cared that Ash was even around.

It wasn't long after his return, and marriage, that her father fell ill. The Greenwitch of her town did almost everything she could to help him, but Lady Isobel wasn't having it anymore. The packed their belongings and moved closer to the city. Her father passed away within weeks of them arriving.

Now orphaned in a home where she was not only, not loved, but she was also not wanted. Claiming that her father had tricked her into marriage, and had left too  many debts in his death, Lady Isobel put Ash to work. She became the house maid, working off debts that she never knew even existed.

Being drawn to the Wood behind her new home, Ash often went for walks. It's how she met her first friend, Sidehean. He was cold and otherworldly, a Fairy in every sense. Even though she had grown up with fairy tales, and knew she should stay away from him, Ash felt drawn to him, and couldn't resist seeing him in the Wood.

As the years passed, Ash became more and more fond of Sidhean. Realizing that she truly missed him when she had to leave with her Stepmother and stepsisters. He was her only friend. Until she met Kaisa.

At first Kaisa was someone Ash revered as a superior. The Royal Huntress would speak to her in small bits, only humoring Ash's curiosity. Or so she thought. As time progresses and they began happening upon one another more and more in the Wood, Ash began to feel a kinship with Kaisa. The same kind she felt with Sidhean, a friendship was growing.

Ash and Kaisa spent everyday that her stepmother and stepsisters were gone, together. The walked the paths in the Wood, and rode on beautiful horses. Becoming closer everyday. After the Royal Hunt, Ash now owed her fairy a favor. She knew that her debt would be repaid soon, but she was happy for once. And knew her debt was well worth it.

Getting close to Kaisa awakened something inside Ash. Something that had been dead since her mother had died. She was starting to understand what love could feel like. But even as she thought that of Kaisa she would feel as if she was betraying Sidhean in the same breath.

The Yule ball brings in conclusion what Ash has finally figured out for herself. She knows that this night is either now or never. Wanting to see the one she knows she loves one last time before she may never return, Ash makes a spectacle of herself, but gains exactly what she wanted.

Repaying her debt is one of the hardest decisions Ash has ever made, but it's time, and she is an honest person. Love has gotten her all the way to where she is now, and it might just get her out of this as well. She only dares to hope.

Again, once I gt into this book, I LOVED it. I would def recommend it to any of my friends who love a good fairy tale with a happy ending :)


Wednesday, February 9, 2011

We recieved an Award!!!

We woke up this morning to see this in our mailbox!!!

We want to thank Kate over at Reads, Reviews, Recommends for thinking of us when giving away this Shiny Award!! We are extremely excited and PROUD at this moment! We have been hard at work each day to make this new blog into something everyone will enjoy! Thank you so much!

With winning this award, we also are going to be passing it along to some of the other blogs that we are a) familiar with and b) absolutely adore!!!

Here's what you need do if you receive this award:
  • Thank the awesome person who gave you the award
  • Post 7 random things about yourself
  • Give the award to 15 other blogs
  • Contact the blogger and let them know they have won!

Here are the 7 Random things about Us:
1. We are both Down South G.R.I.T.S ( Girls Raised In The South ) and are proud of it :)
2. Both of us a fascination with making things. I.E. with a sewing machine, on the computer... ect
3. We both own and adore our LITTLE doggies!! Bubba, Sandy and Zadist ( Christy's Chihuahuas ) and Molly ( Danielle's Rat Terrier )
4. We have children who just as much best friends with each other as we are.
5. We met while both of us were serving a Term as a Military Wife ( HOOAH... ARMY!! )
6. If we could do anything for a day to escape the responsibilities of adulthood... it would be grab some margaritas, head to the beach, lay in the sun and read ( slash scope hot guys all day tee hee )
7. At the moment we are both stay at home moms.

Here are the 15 other Stylish Bloggers we are sending this award out to!!! ( in no particular order )
1. A Simple Love of Reading
2. Paperback Dolls
3. Book Hounds
4. The Secret Writer
5. Uniquely Moi Books
6. Books For Company
7. Reader Girlz
8. Forever Young ( Adult )
9. Books, Books the Magical Fruit
10. Actin' Up With Books
11. Ellz Reads
12. Reading is Dreamy
13. i live, i laugh, i love books
14. Bookworming in the 21st Century
15. That Bookish Girl

We hope everyone is as excited as we are to receive this Award!!! Have a Happy Day!

Monday, February 7, 2011

Book Review: The Hollow and The Haunted

These are the first two books in Jessica Verday's Hollow series... and by golly are they amazing!!

The first book, The Hollow, introduces us to Abbey. A brokenhearted teenager, who feels like she is on the brink of a mental breakdown.

Unfortunately, this broken heart doesn't stem from being jilted by a lover. This has a much more heart wrenching touch. Her best friend, and life long companion so far has died. Missing for months, and holding a fake funeral to ' get closure ' just pushes Abbey closer and closer to that edge.

Meeting Caspian was probably the best thing that could have happened to Abbey. He is smart, funny, and incredibly sexy. He makes her laugh when all she wants to do is cry, he is exactly what she needs to pull her back from the ledge of insanity.

But when Abbey finds her best friend, Kristen's, secret diaries, and they reveal that she has been keeping things from her that no best friend should. Abbey sinks even lower, and it takes more than it should for Caspian to pull her out of her depression.

Just when things start to feel right again, and Abbey thinks her heart and mind might actually mend. She learns of more secrets about ppl she cares about, and a devastating secret about the boy she has fallen in love with.

Book number two in this series, The Haunted was just as good as the first, if not better!!

Abbey comes home, she has taken some much needed time away from Sleepy Hollow. She had to get away, from everything and ... everyone. She is terrified that she will see him again. See Caspian. But in her deepest desires, that is exactly what she wants.

Being guilt tripped into working for her uncle at the ice cream shop again brings in another round of problems. unfortunately Abbey doesn't realize exactly how bad it is until it's almost too late.

Vincent is a jerk. Cocking and pushy, mean and overbearing. Everything Abbey hates in a guy, and for some reason, he is harassing her. Even though he is dating her coworker. She knows enough to just stay away from him. Even when he seems to keep finding her.

With four new strangers in town that all seem extremely odd, and Vincent haunting her waking moves. Abbey is glad she has found Caspian again, even if it means she might be slightly crazy. But his love and protection is exactly what she needs to fully heal from this year's past heart break.

Now Abbey has a new problem looming ahead of her, it may just be her time to die. But she needs to figure out why, and by who. Unfortunately or maybe fortunately she has her answers to Kristen's dark secrets. Vincent was the one behind her best friend's depression, but Abbey isn't going to let him take her there as well. Even though it seems he has a completely different plans for Abbey than what he had for Kristen.

- Danielle

Friday, February 4, 2011

Book Review: The Iron Queen

Here is the first review on our fabulous new blog!

Christy and I have been working extremely hard these last few days to really bring things together for you guys, we hope you enjoy :)

The Iron Queen is the third book in Julie Kagawa's Iron Fey series ( if you don't count her novella Winter's Passage ). This is another one of those series where it only gets better as you get further along. Exactly how that is possible I am not even sure, the first book was amazing, but this one blew my mind :)

We start out back in the human realm on Meghan's 17th birthday, yep it's been exactly one year since this whole adventure first began. Only this time it's finally coming to an end, she is finally coming home. Or so she thinks. The new Iron King isn't letting her get away that easy, and he is pulling out all the stops, even if it means involving her human family in his destructive path to capture her.

Unable to put even more ppl she loves in danger, Meghan decides she has to travel back to the Feary and finish the job that she thought was already over. She just has to figure out how to get there first. Her and Ash have been banished due to their love for each other. She refuses to give up Ash, but she must get back. Her answer comes in the form of a summoning from the Feary courts themselves. They have decided they need her after all.

Once returned, Meghan, Ash, and Puck set out on another adventure to save the world they love. This time it will take them further into the mouth of danger, and teach them much more about the meaning of sacrifice than any of them ever wanted to learn. In the end only one thing will decide the fate of their world's, and it will be up to Meghan to choose weather she is ready to sacrifice it or not.

The Iron Queen is definitely the best in the series so far, but it is also the saddest. I was on the brink of tears throughout the last few chapters. I can not wait for the next installment, The Iron Knight, so I can finally put to rest all my fears over what has happened in this book. I absolutely loved it, and I recommend it to anyone who likes paranormal/fantasy YA books.


Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Help us get the word out !!

This blog was created to merge two AWESOME book review blogs together so that we can offer our followers MORE FREE BOOKS and more book reviews! We are striving to make this blog even better than the two individual ones we had before! We need your help to get the word out about our new blog so we are offering a FREE copy of City of Fallen Angels ( book 4 in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare ) in this first contest! If we reach 50 followers with your help by March 1st at 9pm  we will then randomly select a winner for this book.

It is very simple to enter! Here are the rules!

1) FOLLOW us!
2) Fill out this form!

The City of Fallen Angels
Book 4 in The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare